Basner

Teacher, Professional Phila DOOPer, Expat-in-training

Califf for Lahoud and Cash

on May 18, 2012

Well, the dust has finally settled and when all is said and done with, we’ve traded away the bedrock of our central defense and a Union captain, original, and fan favorite for… yet another midfielder and some more allocation money.

It must be said from the outset that I harbor no resentment towards Michael Lahoud. It’s not his fault that he finds himself in the trade that he did and now that he’s a Union player, I sincerely wish him the best of luck and hope that he can contribute to our team. But after a grand total of 54 minutes played so far this year, I’m not holding my breath.

And again, what are we going to do with our ever-expanding pile of allocation money? We could buy the services of Robin van Persie… for a month and change. We could maybe get Papiss Cissé for a little bit longer. I understand that owning a team is still a business and some attention does need to be payed toward the money side of things. But if we’re gaining money but losing points and angering fans, what’s the point of it all? If there is a plan here, I don’t see it.

As for the manner that the Califf trade was conducted, I concur with other Union fans and writers that this just smacks of a power play with hints of a salary dump. Others (PSP, K Gabriel, and Brotherly Game among them) have said it much better than I could, so I’ll leave them to it.

In a moment of cynicism and pessimism, I tweeted around the time the trade was made official, “Welcome to Philly, Mike Lahoud. If you play hard, love the fans, and do well, you too can be traded away for allocation money. Congrats!”. I really hope I’m wrong about this whole thing, but I doubt it.

Leave a Reply

